A forum for information sharing and collaboration among units responsible for IT across Oregon State University

What is ITCC?

The Information Technology Coordinating Committee (ITCC) provides a forum for information sharing and identifies opportunities for collaboration among units responsible for IT across all OSU campuses.

The ITCC is not a policy-making group, although it makes recommendations on procedures or policies to the appropriate University authorities. As a body, it is not directly responsible for implementation, though individual members may oversee implementation efforts.

The ITCC engages in the following activities:

  • Identify campus-level IT issues and potential opportunities in consultation with various stakeholders.
  • Serves an advisory role to the University on campus-level IT projects, initiatives, and issues that have an impact on the greater OSU community.
    • Develop proposals for addressing such issues, identifying and evaluating alternative approaches (including costs, issues of user support/training, and effectiveness evaluation).
    • Submit proposals for review and approval to VP IS, Provost's Council, and/or Strategic Computing Deans as appropriate.
  • Form and manage working groups as needed to develop, implement, and evaluate specific technical solutions proposed or approved for specific problems.

Meetings are conducted on the second Friday of each month. Because space and discussion time are limited, attendance is limited to ITCC members or their proxy and individuals who have been invited to participate in specific discussions. Members are encouraged to share information and outcomes shared through Google and in-person discussions with relevant stakeholders.

Agendas, meeting minutes, and handouts from the discussion are found on the ITCC Google Drive and are open to members of the ITCC Google Group. The ITCC mailing list will be used for discussion and announcements and is limited to members of the ITCC.

Vision and Role

In the early part of the 21st century, IT leaders across Oregon State University recognized that IT infrastructure was central to Oregon State's core functions: teaching, research, and administration. The managers of that infrastructure were distributed in Information Services (IS) and other academic and administrative units across campus, and most of them focused on just one or two of the core functions. As a result, decisions sometimes were made in one sphere without sufficient consideration to problems or issues associated with the others.

Recognizing that this led to needless misunderstandings in the past, the IT Coordination Committee (ITCC) was established as a vehicle for improving campus-wide coordination and collaboration.

The ITCC responds to four key observations:

  • Oregon State University consists of many talented and dedicated IT professionals throughout our campuses. Regular interactions at the IT leadership level helps ensure that IT staff at all levels share their technical expertise.
  • Many IT tools and products span teaching, research, and administrative functions. Coordination and collaboration at the IT leadership level makes it possible to leverage potential savings across the three functional areas.
  • Technology implementation should be driven by the needs of the community. At the same time, technology can be responsible for expanding and redefining user opportunities.
  • Sharing experiences and planning activities between IT leaders helps in making informed decisions and using university funds wisely.

ITCC Members

The ITCC consists of senior IT leaders across OSU; the currently active members are listed below. In addition, a liaison from the Faculty Senate Computing Resources Committee (CRC) is a member of this committee, and the Vice Provost for Information Services/CIO serves as an ex-officio member.


Name Title Department
Scott Emery Director, IT Relations Information Services
Andrew Wheeler Director, Client Services and Cosine IT Services Information Services; College of Science


Computing Resources Committee Liaison

Name Title Department
Jon Dorbolo Assc. Director, Teaching Across the Curriculum Information Services


Name Title Department
David Barber Senior Program Manager Information Services
Ian Cavalier Lead Web Developer/Designer Extended Campus
Al Christensen Information Services Administrator College of Veterinary Medicine
Dann Cutter Director, IT Hatfield Marine Science Center
David Goodrum Director, Academic Technology Information Services
John Henry Director, IT Graduate School
Sam Khan Information Systems Auditor Office of Audit Services
Malcolm LeMay Director of Operations College of Business
Amy McLaughlin Director, Information Services Student Health Services
Margaret Mellinger Director, Emerging Technologies & Services Valley Library
Johan Reinalda Director, Networks and Telecom Information Services
Andy Roberts Manager, IT Campus Operations
Chuck Sears Research Computing Manager College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences
Todd Shechter Director, IT College of Engineering
Jill Swenson Associate Director, ECS Information Services
Chris Sullivan Assistant Director for Biocomputing Center for Genome Research and Biocomputing
Lucas Turpin Director, IT College of Agricultural Sciences
Terralyn Vandetta Interim Director, IT College of Forestry
Ben Wessel Manager, IT Enrollment Management
Chris White Information Services Manager Housing & Dining Services
Derek Whiteside Director, Web & Mobile Information Services
Dan Whitinger ITS Director OSU Foundation